Richard Henry Lee (January 20, 1732- June 19, 1794)

By: Gary J Verdes

Richard Henry Lee American statesman and orator had the advantage in life of living during one of the most crucial times in American History. Allowing him to take part in one of the greatest events the world has witnessed, the pregnancy, birth, and childhood of the United States of America. Striving against the British Crown with such men as Patrick Henry, John Adams, and Benjamin Franklin, his influence has a lasting effect on the outcome of American History. He was amongst those radical members of the Burgesses who met at the Raleigh tavern when the house was dissolved by the Royal Governor. In 1774 he was elected to attend the first Continental Congress. He enjoyed many important committee appointments. Noted for his oratory skills, it was he who offered the Resolutions for Independence to the committee of the whole in 1776. He served in Congress through the course of the War, while also serving in the House of Burgesses. In 1783 he was selected as president of Congress. Lee opposed the federal constitution, as he favored strong state rights. He was however elected the first State Senator from Virginia under the new federal government. He retired from that office to his home in Chantilly due to illness, and soon after died at the age of 62.

“To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of the people always possess arms and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them.” Richard Henry Lee

Published in: on January 20, 2012 at 2:32 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ibpcblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/richard-henry-lee-january-20-1732-june-19-1794/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this article
    i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant article.

  2. I have read so many articles or reviews about the blogger lovers
    except this post is in fact a nice piece of
    writing, keep it up.

  3. I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet visitors, its really
    really fastidious paragraph on building up new web site.

  4. For latest information you have to visit world-wide-web and on web I found this web site as a most
    excellent website for newest updates.

  5. Somebody essentially help to make critically articles I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual submit incredible. Fantastic process!

  6. Hiya! My name is Autumn and I really just wanted to say your blogging site is awesome!

    It truly is amusing simply because I use to have a weblog
    that nearly had an identical website url: http://ibpcbolg.

    wordpress.com/2012/01/20/richard-henry-lee-january-20-1732-june-19-1794/ mine was only a few letters different.
    Anyways, I’m a big admirer of your web site and if you at any time want a guest post make sure you email me personally at: autumnpruett@arcor.de. I take pleasure in writing!

  7. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely
    interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  8. It’s actually weird, i was on your web page just 20 min. before, once the browser was freezing to death and trigged a Crash To Desktop, did you added some new plugins or changed anything else which could potentially trigger such a behavior? I pay a visit to your site fairly often and in no way had that ever before!

  9. Greetings! I’ve been following your weblog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

  10. No

  11. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  12. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website.
    He was once entirely right. This put up actually made my day.

    You cann’t consider simply how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!

  13. I have been exploring for a little for any
    high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of space .
    Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website. Studying
    this information So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I such a lot surely will make certain to don?t omit this website and provides it a look regularly.

  14. Link exchange is nothing else however it is simply placing the other person’s webpage link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do same in support of you.

  15. It is truly bizarre, i was on your internet site just 20 minutes before, once
    my web browser i use Firefox was freezing to death and trigged a CTD, did
    you by any means added some new plugins or improved something else which could maybe trigger such a behaviour?
    I check out your website pretty often and never had that ever before!

  16. Heya! It seems as though we both have a interest for the
    same thing. Your blog, “Richard Henry Lee (January 20, 1732- June 19, 1794) | IBPC’s Blog” and
    mine are very similar. Have you ever considered writing a guest write-up for a related website?
    It will unquestionably help gain exposure to your website (my website recieves a lot of visitors).
    If you are interested, email me at: jeffersonlaughlin@gmail.
    com. Appreciate it


Leave a Reply

